Destiny 2 Server Maintenance Taking Game Offline For 6 Hours This Week, Here’s Exactly When

Destiny 2 will be unplayable for a few hours this week as developer Bungie performs server maintenance. The company is taking the game offline for around six hours to perform the maintenance, which applies to PS4, Xbox One, and PC.

Players will no longer be able to log in from 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET / 4 PM GMT on Thursday, November 30 (that’s 2 AM AEST on December 1 in Australia). An hour later, anyone still playing the game will be booted to the title screen. Bungie says the maintenance will end five hours after that–at 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET / 10 PM GMT (8 AM in Australia).

Bungie has provided no clues as to what–if anything–is changing; it only says that “no gameplay content or updates will be introduced with this maintenance period.” It could be related to an upcoming blog post, which will detail some key changes coming to Destiny 2.

It’s possible that post–which replaces the now-canceled Curse of Osiris stream–will address the game’s recent XP controversy. Fans discovered that Destiny 2 was limiting the amount of XP you earned when taking part in certain activities, such as Public Events. Bungie acknowledged this hidden system was in place and disabled it, stating, “We are not happy with the results.” However, this seemingly welcome change coincided with another adjustment, this one doubling the amount of XP needed to rank up at the level cap. Bungie did not acknowledge this change at first, only later confirming it to be the case and informing players it is working on an update to the in-game UI to make this change clear.

The Curse of Osiris expansion launches on December 5. It will increase Destiny 2’s level cap and offer PS4-exclusive content. For more, take a look at some of the new Curse of Osiris armor and gear or check out some Destiny 2: Curse of Osiris gameplay.

GameSpot News

Play
Slider